h1

On Castlevania: Order of Ecclesia

November 14, 2008

I think that the “Metrovanias” that Konami has been releasing for the last decade or so are gaming’s equivalent of Dragonlance novellas, or something like that; they’re amusing and fun experiences, but generally not worth dwelling on. All told, I’ve played Symphony of the Night, Circle of the Moon, Aria of Sorrow, parts of Harmony of Dissonance, Dawn of Sorrow, parts of Portrait of Ruin, and now Order of Ecclesia, and I’ve got to say I’m damned if I can remember a whole lot of notable stuff about any of them save Symphony of the Night, which is the only one I’ve bothered to play multiple times. Oh wait: I do remember JONATHAN! CHARLOTTE! JONATHAN! CHARLOTTE! JONATHAN! CHARLOTTE!

…Just had to get that out of my system.

Order of Ecclesia took an interesting tack with the Castlevania standards; all your moves use MP, so you’ll have to manage the meter, the difficulty level has been cranked up significantly, the Glyph system feels pleasantly customizable without making me feel like I gotta catch ’em all, and it’s nice to have a world map with multiple level setpieces and Dracula’s Castle. When it comes down to it, though, there’s not much I’m going to remember about it except that I got to play as a woman this time, and not just a rather womanish-looking dude.

Kind of makes me wish I could mod the game so I was playing as Wesley Snipes from Blade though.

pat m.

Leave a Reply

