h1

The Dilemma of the Unemployed Game Journalist

September 16, 2008

Well, I’m back in the US. Back in the San Francisco Bay Area, to be specific.

If I were to write a review of being back in the US in Game|Life, the ending would look something like this:

Wired Girlfriend is here, food is cheaper and Mexican food is readily available, rent is free for the next month and a half or so, people speak English.

Tired Now instead of being a “visiting researcher” I’m just “unemployed”.

Which brings me to the dilemma mentioned in the title. As of this writing, my current hardware collection consists of:

One (1) PlayStation 2 with busted-up PSOne Dual Shock controller (heavily used)

One (1) Nintendo DS (Coral Pink)

One (1) MacBook

As you can see, I’m hardly up to date. If I want to be writing about race and games, I’ll probably need access to the latest-and-greatest – with the exception of Grand Theft Auto: Chinatown Wars or whatever it’s called for the Nintendo DS, I’m quickly learning that if I want to stay viable in the whole games-journalism thing, I’m going to need some newer gear.

So: now that the dust has settled a bit, do I go for the Xbox 360 for the PS3?

Comment away, dear readers: I need your feedback!

4 comments

  1. I think you’ll find a way to afford both eventually, so I would go for a 360 first. The software library is bigger right now, and the price is lower (assuming you don’t need wireless networking). Make sure you get an HDTV as soon as possible– HD gaming is amaaaaazing.


  2. *delurks* I’d go for the 360, mainly for the reasons stated above, and the fact that I have it.

    I also have a wii…


  3. tree-sixty


  4. Wow, looks like the 360 is a pretty heavy favorite.

    For the record, I’m not really up for the Wii because it doesn’t seem to be getting much “mature” content, which is where most of the games with race-related content end up.



Leave a Reply

